Southern African Development Community prepares support conference for the Saharawi Republic and Polisario Front in South Africa and Namibia

Source:  South African Consulate general New York City  /  EIC Poemario por un Sahara Libre

The South African Minister of International Relations and Operation, Lindiwe Sisulu, announced on Wednesday 13/02 the date of the International Conference of the Economic Community of Southern African States, SADC, on Western Sahara.

The Minister of International Relations and Operation, said “South Africa remains committed to its position of principles, in support of the inalienable right of the Saharawi people to their self-determination and independence, a position based on the resolutions and decisions expressed by the SADC, the AU and United Nations. “By demonstrating our continued commitment to the struggle of the Saharawi people, South Africa and Namibia will host the SADC Solidarity Conference on Western Sahara in South Africa from 25 to 26 March 2019,” said the head of South African diplomacy.

Ciryl Ramaphosa on the 107th anniversary of the National African Congress, ANC, recalled that “the struggle of the Saharawi people for freedom and independence is our struggle”.

SADC held a meeting on February 6 to discuss the agenda of the African Union summit and prepare for the conference to support the Saharawi Republic, which will be a circumstance to mobilize support for the issue of Western Sahara and strengthen the position of the Saharawi Republic on the African and international levels.

The SADC will call on several countries, to participate in the international conference, which will be distinguished and reflect the solidarity of the African continent with the Saharawi people, who fight for their freedom and sovereignty.

According to consulted sources, he hopes that the outcome of the international conference will be presented to the African Union Commission.

The South African Development Community (SADC) has 16 member states: Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.